An Atheist Reads the Bible

A godless heathen’s religious experience

What am I doing and why would I do it?

Posted by Urbane Spaceman on November 27, 2007

For quite some time now I have posted on various forums and commented on a number of blogs. Quite often the subject of religion comes up and, being a somewhat outspoken atheist, I can’t help myself – I go diving straight in.

I was raised in a christian* environment, although it wasn’t especially strict. I read a great deal of the bible when I was younger, so when a christian calls me out on it I can usually say “yes, I’ve read it, have you?” It really is astounding how often that shuts people up and never fails to surprise me how many people with rather extreme views don’t seem to have actually read the document they are taking these views from.

My childhood was a long time ago though (unfortunately) and my recollection of much of the bible is rusty at best, so in order to be able to respond to some of the more outrageous arguments I hear I decided to read it again, cover to cover.

Then I thought, why not document it too. I’m sure it’s been done before and it’ll be done again but this is a personal exercise to improve my bible knowledge, so I have no worries about going over ground that has already been covered by others. I’ll be taking one chapter at a time and providing commentary to a greater or lesser degree, depending on how interesting that particular chapter is. I imagine there are places where it may get a little dull (I seem to remember a whole lot of “begat”s near the beginning somewhere!)

I may also consider posting the odd story about any interesting arguments or discussions I’ve had. If I do this the sites and other debaters will remain anonymous, mainly so that I can go back and bait them some more later without having this thrown in my face.

So, if you want to follow along while I do this, welcome.

* Lower case ‘c’ is deliberate. I will not be capitalising** god either unless it’s a direct quote. Jesus and Christ will get the capitalisation simply by virtue of being proper nouns and for no other reason.

** As you may have noticed I use British spelling. That is because I am British, oddly enough, so please don’t get irate when you see an “extra” ‘u’ or an ‘ise’ instead of an ‘ize’. That’s just the way it’s supposed to be spelled.

Leave a Reply

 
